EC distributing voter ID card in 3 provinces from Sunday

June 25, 2017

The Kathmandu Post, 25 June 2017

The Election Commission has begun distributing voter identity cards from Sunday in 35 districts of province 1, 5 and 7 where the second phase of local level election is slated to be held on June 28.

In a statement today, the election body said the cards will be distributed for three days until June 27 from 4,581 voting booths at the concerned voting centers. The voters have to go to the booths to receive their voter ID card. The voter ID card can also be received by a family member by showing the ID cards.

EC has also deployed a voter education officer at each polling center to teach voters about the proper way to cast vote.

A total of 6,432,765 voters has been registered with the EC in the three provinces.

EC has also urged voters with IDs from 2070 BS to receive their new cards for the election.