Voter ID distribution begins

May 12, 2017

The Himalayan Times, 12th May 2017, Kathmandu

The Election Commission on Thursday began distributing voter identity cards from all 6,642 polling centres in 34 districts of Provinces 3, 4 and 6 that go to polls on May 14. Spokesperson for EC Surya Prasad Sharma said eligible voters could collect their identity cards from their respective polling centres until May 13.

He said voter identity cards were essential for casting votes. Sharma said those who could not collect their voter ID could receive them on the polling day from polling centres.Meanwhile, the EC has been providing voter education from all 6,642 polling centres. EC officials, government employees deployed on poll duty, voter educators, as well as volunteers, educate voters who come to collect voter IDs.